IOWA – This past Monday, 19 NTT IndyCar Series drivers were in action at the 0.875-mile Iowa oval, and the times set in the morning and afternoon, the Team Penske’s trio of cars Josef Newgarden, Will Power and Scott McLaughlin topped the field in preparation for next month’s doubleheader race weekend.

Along with Team Penske, others teams that tested were A.J. Foyt Racing, Arrow McLaren SP, Chip Ganassi Racing, Dale Coyne Racing, Meyer Shank Racing, and Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing. Drivers kept busy with toasty temperatures that crept past 90F, with Power leading the group at 282 laps turned. No incidents took place.

McLaughlin was blown away by the high sustained speed and the short lap times.

“It’s sick. It’s like a video game. It’s awesome,” he said. “Big focus for me was figuring out the difference between old and new tires, as being out there on old tires while other guys were on new-tire runs and me still having to make speed was the main thing to learn. Super-fun track. It was great to run the second groove, too, and to have lane diversity. Iowa’s right up my alley.”

All times unofficial

1: Josef Newgarden, 18.37 sec

2: Will Power, 18.52 sec

3: Scott McLaughlin, 18.53 sec

4: Takuma Sato, 18.59 sec

5: Christian Lundgaard, 18.70 sec

6: Pato O’Ward, 18.81 sec

7: Marcus Ericsson, 18.83 sec

8: Graham Rahal, 18.84 sec

9: Helio Castroneves, 18.86 sec

10: Scott Dixon, 18.87 sec

11: Jack Harvey, 18.89 sec

12: David Malukas, 18.89 sec

13: Jimmie Johnson, 19.04 sec

14: Alex Palou, 19.04 sec

15: Simon Pagenaud, 19.07 sec

16: Callum Ilott, 19.20 sec

17: Felix Rosenqvist, 19.24 sec

18: Kyle Kirkwood, 19.31 sec

19: Dalton Kellett, 19.56 sec