(NASHVILLE,TN) – The NTT IndyCar Series moves from the road course at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway to the streets of Nashville for the Big Machine Music City Grand Prix

Track: Streets of Nashville, an 11-turn, a 2.1-mile temporary street course in Nashville,Tennessee

Race distance: 80 laps / 168 miles

Driver Quotes

Push-to-pass parameters: 150 seconds of total time with a maximum time of 15 seconds per activation

Firestone tire allotment: Six sets primary, four sets alternate to be used during the event weekend. One additional set of primary tires may be used by teams fielding a rookie driver.Teams must use one set of primary and one set of new (sticker) alternate tires for at least two laps in the race

Twitter: @MusicCityGP, @IndyCar,  #MusicCityGP, #INDYCAR

2021 Race Winner: Marcus Ericsson (No. 8 Bryant Chip Ganassi Racing Honda)

2021 NTT P1 Award Winner: Colton Herta (No. 26 Gainbridge Honda), 1:13.68, 102.601 MPH

Qualifying Lap Record: Colton Herta, 1:13.68, 102.601 MPH, Aug. 7, 2021

At-track schedule (all times local)
FRIDAY, AUG. 5th 3:15 PM – 4:30 PM – Practice #1

SATURDAY, AUG. 6th 11:15 AM – 12:15 PM – Practice #2

                               3:30 PM – Qualifying for the NTT P1 Award (three rounds of NTT INDYCAR SERIES knockout qualifications)
SUNDAY, AUG. 7th 9:15 AM – 9:45 AM – Warmup
                                 2:23 PM – Big Machine Music City Grand Prix “Drivers, start your engines”
                                 2:30 PM – Big Machine Music City Grand Prix (80 laps/160.8 miles)

NTT INDYCAR SERIES Championship facts:

  • Will Power leads the NTT INDYCAR SERIES championship with 4 races to go for the 2nd time in his INDYCAR SERIES career. Power also led the championship with 4 races to go in 2010, but did not win the title. Power has led the point standings after 3 of the 13 races this season
  • Since 2008 when INDYCAR SERIES racing unified under the NTT INDYCAR SERIES banner, the eventual series champion has won the 14th race of the season 4 times. The most recent occurrence was 2021 when Alex Palou won at Portland. Other drivers to win the 14th race of their championship season were Ryan Hunter-Reay (2012), Dario Franchitti (2009 and 2010)and Scott Dixon (2008)

Key championship point statistic: Since 2008, the largest deficit overcome by the eventual champion was 59 points by Dario Franchitti in 2010, while Scott Dixon overcame Juan Pablo Montoyas 54-point lead in 2015. The top 6 drivers in the 2022 NTT INDYCAR SERIES championship standings are separated by 52 points

Point differential: The nine points that separate Will Power and Marcus Ericsson is the 3rd closest point margin since 2008. Before this season, the average lead with four races to go since 2008 was 37.6 points



  • There have been 8 different winners in 13 NTT INDYCAR SERIES races in the 2022 season. Scott McLaughlin (Streets of St. Petersburg, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course), Josef Newgarden (Texas Motor Speedway, Streets of Long Beach, Road America, Iowa Speedway-1), Pato O’Ward  (Barber Motorsports Park, Iowa Speedway-2), Colton Herta (Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course-1), Marcus Ericsson (Indianapolis 500), Will Power (Raceway at Belle Isle Park), Scott Dixon (Streets of Toronto) and Alexander Rossi (Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course-2) have all won in 2022. The record for most different winners in a season is 11 in 2000, 2001 and 2014
  • The Big Machine Music City Grand Prix will be 14th race of the 2022 season and the fifth and final temporary street circuit race of the 17-race NTT INDYCAR SERIES season.Team Penske has won three of the previous four events with Scott McLaughlin winning St. Petersburg on Feb. 27, Josef Newgarden winning at Long Beach April 10 and Will Power winning at the Raceway at Belle Isle Park on June 5. Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon won at Toronto on July 17
  • Street Course Trends: The last 3 Belle Isle winners came from Row 8. Long Beach last year was won by the 14th place starter. Marcus Ericsson won from 18th here last year. However, 3 of the 4 street course races this season too were also won from the front row also
  • Firestone will use the racetrack as a proving ground to demonstrate the performance of anew sustainable natural rubber derived from guayule, a desert shrub grown in the American Southwest. Firestone Firehawk race tires made with guayule-derived natural rubber were introduced at the Indy 500 Pit Stop Challenge in May and will make their competition debut as the alternate race tire at the Big Machine Music City Grand Prix in Nashville. The guayule natural rubber is located within the Firestone Firehawk’s sidewall. Bridgestone race tire engineers decided to use the guayule rubber in the entire sidewall because that area is made up of the most natural rubber. This allows Firestone to maintain the same quality and performance as the existing race tire. Bridgestone plans to incorporate guayule natural rubber into more of its race tires starting in 2023. For B-Roll of the tire
  • Milestones: Scott Dixon will attempt to make his 302nd consecutive start, the second-longest streak in INDYCAR SERIES history. With his next win, Dixon will break a tie with Mario Andretti and give him sole possession of second on the INDYCAR SERIES all-time victory list with 53 wins. With his next pole position, Will Power will tie Mario Andretti for the INDYCAR SERIES record for most career poles with 67. With his next win, Power will tie Michael Andretti for fourth on the INDYCAR SERIES all-time victory list with 42


  1. Team Penske
  2. Colton Herta
  3. Scott Dixon
  4. Alexander Rossi


  1. Marcus Ericsson
  2. Meyer Shank Racing
  3. Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan Racing
  4. Romain Grosjean
  5. Dale Coyne Racing



  1. Alex Palou
  2. Arrow McLaren SP
  3. Ed Carpenter Racing
  4. AJ Foyt Racing
  5. Callum Ilott
  6. Devlin DeFrancesco
  7. Jimmie Johnson